Quirky Face

Tuesday and Thursday nights, I took art classes at the local community college. Naturally, it was schlep and schvitz to go up those stairs, carrying art supplies. However, once I reached class, my imagination came alive. “Hipster dinosaurs” became a staple of my portfolio. They wore black-framed glasses, Converse sneakers and really liked coffee shops. One assignment left me a bit baffled.

“Shit, fuck, shit, I have to draw my own self portrait,” I said to myself.

I thought of ways to capture my eccentric personality on paper. Also, I brainstormed how to make myself look skinnier than I actually am. Unlike most handsome men, I had a distinct look. Round rosy cheeks, big brown eyes, very thick glasses, wavy black hair and a unibrow, which would make Frida Kahlo red with envy.

Using charcoal, I drew the outline of my puppy dog cheeks. An eraser was used to distinct shadows on my face. The tortoise shell glasses were the most difficult, since they need to be equally aligned. My hands were black with charcoal. The process was extremely messy. The washing of hands became a treat. Screeching sounds of charcoal against paper, reminded me of chalk on a blackboard. That sound reminded me too much of traumatizing Catholic School years. Regardless of a little childhood trauma, the portrait began resembling me.

After completing the portrait, I had to write a paper on what was learned from the experience. Here’s a Reader’s Digest version. In a world of chiseled faces, six-pack abs, and perfectly quaffed hair, I have never fitted in. If Walter Matthau and that kid from the Wonder Years (Fred Savage) meshed faces, they would look like me. Drawing imperfections was fun. Having chubby cheeks and tortoise shell glasses gave me a distinct quirk. My quirky face is also a tribute to my multicultural heritage. Thanks to a DNA taste, I found out, que soy un Latinx con mucho sabor (Spanish, Irish, Jewish, Native American, West African, Scandinavian, English, and Italian, just to name a few). This cultural diversity is reflected in my looks, which I’m very proud of.

The self-portrait has been in my “Gayve” for many months. It will be mounted to the wall, nestled between “Dia de los Muertos “ art and (my own) “Hipster Dinosaurs.” These days, the “Gayve” will not only be a bookworm’s sanctuary, but also art lover’s dream.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment