Coffee House Nerd

Scarves, pea coats, and fancy sweaters, it was officially fall in New York. While riding the L train to First Avenue, I had insatiable craving for a piping hot coffee and bagel. Emerging from the subway, I was greeted by a welcoming cold front. Not being well prepped for the temperature, I declared, “Oy, should’ve layered up, but I’ll defrost in the coffee shop,” said I, practically skipping around the East Village in delight.

I stood in line for the breakfast of New York champions, when he appeared. He being the desire of all caffeine addicts, the beanie clad barista. His eyes were a brightly lit shade of blue. I kept myself from drooling. “Don’t act like a love struck school girl,” said I, internally. I walked up to pay for my order. “Bagel and a large coffee, that would be $5.00,” said he.

While handing over some cash, he had a surprise of his own. “Hey you wanna see my band play?”He asked, handing me puke green flyer. I giggled, “Holy shit, I just turned into a lovesick school girl,” I told myself. While gazing into his round blue eyes, I dropped the silly giggle and cleared my throat. “I’ll check my schedule,” I replied. The smiling fest continued as I awkwardly took a seat.

My table had views of red hued tenements and with delis below. I was fixated on the cute barista. I sipped my coffee. While further falling into the seduction of a well brewed coffee, I wondered if I should ask barista boy out? I took one glance at the coffee shop.

“If this doesn’t work out, it would be awkward to hang out here (the coffee shop) as much as I do,” said I. There I sat with a first world dilemma. “Do I choose between asking a boy out or possibly not hanging out in my favorite coffee shop, if it doesn’t work out?” asked I.

With one bite into my bagel, I made a bold decision. “Dudes come and go, but shit, I can’t give up my favorite coffee shop for a man, “ said I. After a charming late morning, I defrosted from the cold and reveled in my decisiveness.

“In the meantime, I’ll shall get a gym membership and wow the men with my biceps or lack there of,” said I. Instead, the universe gravitated me toward the Waverly Restaurant. “Geez, every time, I try to join a gym, I end up at the diner,” said I with a giggle (and no I really did not want to join). That afternoon, I ordered a patty melt. With one enormous bite, I celebrated fall, being single, and still slightly neurotic.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

