New Yorkers

Each morning, New Yorkers descend into Midtown Manhattan for work. Coffee shops buzz with lines. The aroma of bagels fills the air like sweet perfume for the gritty sidewalks. The lights of Times Square shine brightly blocks away from the creative nerve of advertising, Madison Avenue.

I love the feeling of walking to work. The crowded subways, black coats and car horns have always kept New York the object of my desire. However, there were those times in life where unemployment caught me like the angel of death picking up an unsuspecting victim.

Instead of crying about not having a job, I went out there and physically looked for a job. My favorite memory of early Manhattan job hunt entailed a full suit, shiny shoes and a messenger bag full of resumes.

I walked up to many restaurants in Hell’s Kitchen, handed my resume and declared, “I’m available for work.” Most of these precious resumes were put in a stack and I never heard from the employer again.

One day, I received a surprise phone call. It was a real estate office and they wanted to bring me in for an interview. I was elated. So, I prepared my resume, polished my shoes and off to Midtown East I went.

I walked into the office at 51 & Lex, where I was to be interviewed by a real estate broker, Judy. When I walked in we bonded right away. She’s a native New Yorker, who called Brooklyn home.

During the interview, we talked food and our favorite parts of Brooklyn. By the end of the interview, she told, “You remind me of Jack Lemon.” “You got the job,” my cheeks looked like two shiny tomatoes as I held back the excitement.

As, I made my way onto Lexington Avenue, with it’s narrow sidewalks and less than sumptuous buildings, happiness dawned on me. Although, real estate wasn’t for me, I learned many life lessons from Judy including having a tough skin and finding humor in the most grim of circumstances. Till this day, we remain close and she always asks me “So, do you still dress like you jumped out of a Gap commercial.” I giggle and reply “of course.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

