Wandering Brooklyn

One magical Saturday afternoon, the humidity levels dwindled. My brain, which was in a constant state of ” I am schvitzing. Somebody get me an iced latte from Dunkin Donuts,” suddenly awoke. As I peered into the graceful skies above Manhattan, wanderlust ran rampant.

Although, I couldn’t go play on the beaches of Rio de Janeiro, drink a beer at a London pub or enjoy a fashion show in Tokyo, I went for the next best thing. “Today, I am going to have a day trip/staycation in Brooklyn.” I waited in the excruciating heat of the F train station and was excited. Brooklyn has always provided me with many wonderful adventures. However, I rarely leave the city. The idea of going out to explore the familiar captivated my imagination.

Excitement grew, as the train arrived at the York Street station in Dumbo. Walking into the intense grey of Brooklyn was more charming than a box of cannolis on a winter’s day. I started my adventure. There was the industrial steel, so beloved by New Yorkers of all ages. The apartments of the wealthy and hip stood out like a country music album in a sea of hip-hops 45s. Although, there was the bourgeoisie factor, creative energy still dominated the plateau.

I longed to enjoy a day by the water at Brooklyn Bridge Park. Strolling along the cobbled stone streets, the most cinematic picture in New York dominated the sky. The overlapping of the Manhattan Bridge with the Brooklyn Bridge (in the distance) underneath grey skies was simply inspirational. In the distance, Manhattan with its skyscrapers, red brick project buildings and the FDR (highway). I played tourist in my backyard, snapping away with my camera phone.

I continued my stroll around Brooklyn Bridge Park. The tiny waves of the East River hit against a cluster of grey rock formations. Pebbles and lush green trees with hints of red hanging like ornaments, was indicative of a jolly holiday. “Who needs to take a train to some beach, when there’s such a deep sense of urbane serenity here,” were my thoughts. I sat on a bench and pumped up my iPOD.

A soundtrack of Smashing Pumpkins, Radiohead, Bjork, Green Day, Cornershop & the Cranberries played as I took in the romanticized (and surprisingly filled) salt-water breezes. I felt creative and re-energized, just through a couple hours of peace & quiet. My Brooklyn adventures continued.

After Dumbo, I headed to Carroll Gardens & Brooklyn Heights, where I took in all the lovely brownstones, outdoor cafes and vintage shops. I returned to my apartment in Manhattan. It felt like I had taken a relaxing holiday and I didn’t even leave New York City.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Yay!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. I have been to Brooklyn twice, and both have been more than 10 years ago. I will make it a point to visit next time I am in NY. Thanks for wandering :)

    Reply
  3. I have never been to New York (or anywhere in America) but you made it come alive for me with this post. Regards from England. Pete.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for checking out my blog. I recommend New York. It’s home, but it’s also a place full of magical experiences.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

