My Very Own Mary Poppins Bag

Marie Antoinette’s lavish wig collection, traveling banjo players and a used copy of Catcher in the Rye, would fit perfectly in Mary Poppin’s bag. The unique fashion item, featured in both the film and book are a hoarder’s dream. You could fit your whole life in there, then take a magical umbrella and fly around London.

Years ago, I wandered around New York with my Pan Am messenger bag. Like Mary Poppins bag, I too thought that everything including the kitchen sink could fit in. Old copies of the New York Times, snacks, a notebook, a couple books and an iPod charger were placed in strategically. Then one day, I found out that bags break.

While walking in SoHo, I felt my bag lower and then rip. I nearly cried. I ended up with a new bag and decided to make it a shrine to organizational thinking, which lasted 15 minutes, just like fame. After years, with a messenger bag, I switched over to having a backpack again. I felt like a college kid again. Then my backpack felt like an elephant was living in its tight quarters.

Therefore, I wondered New York without a bag. Then one day, after coming home from gay bingo, I noticed my pockets. They were filled to the brim with crap. “So, I decided the time had come to invest in a bag.

One afternoon, I stopped by the Strand. It’s one of my favorite bookstores in the city. I wanted one of their easy to carry, colorful tote bags, which they are renowned for. The smell of old books welcomed me into the old shop, like lavender on a spring’s day. A particular bag stood out from the rest.

William Shakespeare, Emily Bronte, Jane Austen, Oscar Wilde, Homer, Herman Melville looked more like mighty super heroes, than dead writers. Growing up, their words inspired me to not only drift away into imagination land, but also take on writing. Emily Bronte and Jane Austen spoke to me “Love, buy the bag, it might inspire you having writers tagging along on your every New York adventure.”

“You might be inspired to write the next Pride Prejudice,” said Jane. ” Or Wuthering Heights, dear,” replied Emily. “Ye ol boy, buy the bag and then a notebook to write a saucy sonnet.” said dearest William. ” Just buy the bloody bag and don’t go before the wallpaper,” said Oscar. Herman and Homer simply zapped me. Soon, I bought the bag. The literary superheroes cheered.

I took my tote bag everywhere with me. They adored the New York adventures as much as I did. Having a smaller bag also meant, I was forced to only put a few items in. Sorry Mary Poppins you can keep your magical bag, I love life with my tote.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. lovelee90

     /  July 4, 2013

    Haha, this reminded me of when I was 16- I had a little messenger bag I absolutely loved- it was my first “man-bag” and it came with me everywhere, until the strap snapped. I was heartbroken, and I still haven’t managed to throw it away 6 years later!

    Reply
    • Haha, I get attached to my bags too. They become part of my daily adventures. Thanks for checking out my blog. I am enjoying yours as well. :)

      Reply
      • lovelee90

         /  July 5, 2013

        You’re welcome, I’ve enjoyed reading :D And thanks!!

  2. we need a picture of this bag! lol. your posts are always great.

    Reply
  3. you had me at gay bingo.

    Reply
  4. “I ended up with a new bag and decided to make it a shrine to organizational thinking, which lasted 15 minutes, just like fame. ”

    LOL – love your writing style : )

    Reply
  5. Thanks so much. I appreciate it :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers

