Making Origami

In the third grade, we spent a whole semester learning about Japan. In order to immerse us culturally, my teacher brought in Japanese exchange student who taught us how to make origami. They dazzled the class with the birds and various animals of the forest, which could be designed without the snips of a scissor. At the time I didn’t appreciate the kitsch behind origami. I was the kid in class, who just could not master the traditional paper Japanese art form.

I made a paper plane (easy way out) and called it origami. The class laughed. While our Japanese exchange students displayed a great deal of patience. At the end of the day, I didn’t master origami. However, It was my first big exposure to Japan. After origami, we learned about Nippon’s cultural life and contributions. At the end of our studies, we celebrated our journey into Nippon via text books by eating egg rolls, since sushi and Saki (we were also not twenty one) were not part of the cafeteria food scene.

Taking a last look at my textbook revealed Mt. Fugi with a rising sun it left a curious feeling. That semester was I would spend years daydreaming about Japan..  One night, Bryan and Yuki called from Japan. They wanted me to come visit. Although, I was on a budget at the time, I took the plunge anyways.

The trip in Tokyo and I was instantly mesmerized by everything. The loudness, the quirky fashion of Harajuku, Kyoto, the bullet trains, the temples, the colorful metro, food and spending time with wonderful friends gave me a collage of beautiful memories. After my first trip, I developed full wonder lust for Japan all over again, even after my passport was stamped.

Years later I would return. My visit was focused entirely on Tokyo. However something funny happened while roaming the streets of the Japanese capital. It started feeling like home. I had my favorite pastries shop at the Ginza metro stop. The route from Shibuya to Harajuku counted as the ideal place to take one of my famous power walks, since it had gorgeous window displays featuring street and high fashion. Also, I could maneuver the subway with familiarity like New York.

These days, I still love to immerse myself in Japanese culture. Origami is an art form I long to learn. I would love to fill my next apartment with cute origami creations made with bright colors. Like Japan, I plan on keeping life kitschy, interesting and exotic.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Tokyo feels a lot like home to me, too, even if I don’t live in a big metropolis like NYC. I miss it. As for origami, it’s tricky, but they say that if you can fold a paper crane, you can do anything. I’m not sure if I believe that myself as someone who folds perfect paper cranes but can do little of anything else, but it’s worth a shot! Cranes are iconic, but you can make useful things out of origami too, like beautiful little boxes. :)

    Reply
    • Thanks for checking out my blog. I agree, Tokyo has a very special feel. It’s so exciting and surprisingly homey/familiar. Origami boxes sound delightful. It will give me something to keep me entertained while riding the bus. :)

      Reply
  2. I am very happy to hear that you love Japan so much. I am now living in the countryside (actually my hometown located 100 miles northeast of Tokyo) but I used to live in Tokyo for seven years. Maybe that’s why when I visited New York City I felt comfortable there (I strongly feel that I am more like a city mouth than a country mouth). BTW, my wife’s a kindergarden teacher and can make almost anything with Origami.

    Reply
  3. Thanks, wow, that sounds amazing. I wanna take up more arts & craft hobbies. Origami fascinates me. I too feel very at home in Japan. I really miss it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers

