A Prince In The Tower

My mother always said, “When you marry someone, you marry the whole family.” She always complained about her in-laws. My paternal grandparents and mom had a love-hate relationship. They would spend hours gossiping and then showed love through fighting. After one of their many disagreements, my mom would complain. Eventually she would go back to their house for another round of gossiping and fighting.

I’ve spent my 20’s perpetually single. At this point in my life, I am more concerned with career and travel than love. However, there have been Romeos who have swept me off my feet. I can count those fellas on my fingers, which impressed me.

One faithful night in up and coming Long Island City, there was a gay/theatre party. I know they compliment each other like caviar with crackers. It was held at a gay apartment, where the furniture was impeccably decorated and the books were color-coded. The party was nothing to write home about.

There was an adorable college boy who I ended up making out with. He was nice Jewish boy from Manhattan. We obviously clicked right away. When I walked him to the 7 train, it was difficult to let him go. As predicted we exchanged numbers. He was three years my junior, which is a rarity, since I like my men old.

After a charming date, having 1/2 off sushi on Saint Marks Place and desperately trying to find a public restroom on Park Avenue South, we agreed to meet again. This time, we met in Midtown East and sat at the counter of a diner. ” Do you wanna go back to my apartment?” he asked. ” I live with my mom down the street on Sutton Place and you’re gonna love her. She looks Meryl Streep from the Devil Wears Prada.” As awkward, as it sounded seeing his home life fascinated me.

We took our diner burgers and walked toward Sutton Place. The heavy winds from the East River overwhelmed us. Once we arrived at his apartment, he walked me over to his mother’s study. As predicted she did indeed look like Meryl Streep from the Devil Wears Prada. She asked me questions and was the cool mom type. She had huge selection of old books in her office and was politically involved in New York City.

After meeting mom, we went back to his room and had dinner. He loved Saved by the Bell for some random reason. We then made out. After walking out of his room. His mom looked at us and raised her eyebrow. “I know what you boys were doing in there.” She giggled. My cute guy date then suggested we dump the old Saved by the Bell episodes for booze.

After visiting his current/child home, we went to the W hotel for drinks. We also paid very high adult people prices for our precious drinks. As I sipped on a cocktail, I was reminded about what my mom always said. It’s true when you marry a guy; the whole family comes along. I loved that he introduced me to his mom, but I didn’t want her to hear any sound effects from the other room. My date and I ended up being friends, but we eventually lost contact.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. adorable story, i enjoyed it :-)

    Reply
  2. Oh thank you very much. I appreciate it!

    Reply
  3. So very New York! Sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers

